Albert-König-Museum

Albert-König-Museum
Albert-König-Straße 10
29345 Unterlüß
Tel. 05827/369

Opening times:
May 1st to October 31st:
Tuesday to Sunday 2.30 pm to 5.30 pm
November 1st to April 30th:
Saturday and Sunday 2.30 pm to 5.30 pm and by prior arrangement

The Albert-König-Museum was opened in 1987, in the house of the artist, in Unterlüß which had been altered and had an extension built. It holds the artistic estate of the artist and illustrator Albert König (1881-1944).

The exhibits include important works of the artist, from all periods of his life, starting in his student days 1909 in Munich up to his final works in 1943. The most significant section of the collection is his late work especially from the 30s, of large panels. They are unique in the arts of this century, portraying huge trees at the front and depicting what could be interpreted as the dream-like landscapes of the silica pits.

220 paintings, about 1,200 water colours and drawings and several hundred sheets of illustrations belonging to Albert-König-Museum are not all that the only art gallery in the south Lüneburg Heath has to offer. It is also responsible for many works by other painters who are either well known nationally and internationally or who are of significance here in the region. Various painters are presented here at the Albert-König-Museum and other more theme orientated exhibitions are shown here.

In the second exhibition hall, completed in 1999, the mineral silica is shown with all its historical and economic significance for the Lüneburg Heath and especially for Unterlüß.